Tags

, , ,



chall jan 2014_5

Hi there, and good morning.

I 1st want to apologise for not blogging last month. As some of you know my Mum has been very ill and

I have been spending as much time as possible with her in the hospital. Thanks for all the prayers, and support.

Well on a happy note today is the 1st of the month, and so its the start of a new Challenge at http://claritystampchallenge.blogspot.co.uk.

This months challenge is Love well it has to be with Valentine’s Day coming up.

Pop over and have a look at all the lovely DT projects  and have a look at the beautiful entries for last month’c challenge.

I hope you will join in and maybe this month you will be the winner of the £50.00 voucher, you never know.

I decided to experiment and make an exploding box, my 1st. So I kept it simple.

Here it is.

The picture above and below shows the outside decoration of the box, and the 3rd of course is in inside once you open the lid.

Hope you like it, leave me a comment and let me know.

chall jan 2014_7
chall jan 2014_2

How I made it.

I cut out the box layers on my Silhouette Cameo, I used 3 layers, but you can have as many as you like. There are lots of of templates and pictures instructions on both pinterest and google. Basically the 1st layer is 12 X 12 centura card , (white with a touch of gold) with the four corners each which measure 4 inches square cut off and the center of the cross scored in a 4 inch square to make the base of the box.  Each of the other layers in just a little smaller. Like the picture below. You can have straight edges, curved, punched, its up to you.

2014-01-22 11.38.06

I then cut 5 squares again, just a little smaller than the 4 inch square with my spellbinders squares on red paper and then 4 more squares, again just a little smaller than the red from more centura card stock. These were for decorating the outside panels of my box and for the lid.

Next I stamped two of the white panels and one of the red with the wire heart in versamark and then heat embossed with wow gold embossing powder. I did the same with the edges of the lid using the swirl.


2014-01-22 21.40.25

I glued one of the red panel that I had stamped to the lid and then glued the lid together.

chall jan 2014_8

Next I repeated the same heat embossing as above, but used the a gift for you with love stamp.

2014-01-22 21.44.41

Now the only tricky bit. Be careful, I nearly glued the hearts up side down remember the points of the hearts have to face the base.

I glued the red squares on 1st, then each of the decorated white squares to the largest panel, so the outside of the box looks like this.

I then cut out 4 red squares for the inside of each layer of the box, three times each group of squares being slightly smaller than the panel they were being

glued to. I stamped and embossed the swirl to each. I turned the two internal layers around so the finished side of the card stock was facing up on the inside of the box. I glued it together with wet glue.

2014-01-22 21.55.35

Lastly, I stamped the rose 3 times with Versamark, sprinkled with the gold embossing powder and heat embossed.

2014-01-23 22.24.48

I used a craft knife and cut into one of the roses along the petals and curled the outside edges.

On the 2nd rose I cut away a layer from the outside of the rose and used and embossing tool to get it to curl up slightly.

The 3rd rose I cut away all but the center and again curled with an embossing tool.

I glued together, so it looks like this and ten glued to the center square of the box.

chall jan 2014_3

So this is what I used to decorate the box, all the stamps are from the Design Club.

  1. 2014-01-25 12.39.37

Bye for now, remember any question just leave me a comment and I will get back to you.

Naomi

