January 2015

 Happy New Year.

Hi there and welcome to the 1st Clarity Blog Challenge of 2015.

I wanted to thank all the members of the Clarity Blog Challenge design team 2014  for all their inspiration

support and encouragement. It has been amazing to spend time with you this year.

It’s exciting times and we have some lovely new members of the blog design team, wait still you see

all their wonderful projects.

Hope you will join in and I will get to see what you come up with.

This months theme is Things with Wings and above is my little project.

I made this for a shiny new little baby girl called Grace who lives across the road and is just 2 weeks old.

This little canvas now hangs in bedroom.

This is how I made it.

Take the large Gelli plate and using pickled raspberry distress ink spread evenly all over, with you brayer.

Then take the fairytale castle and without inking stamp into the gelli plate and lift. It will therefore remove the wet ink

and leave the impression of the castle. Take you canvas and place as centrally as possibly over the gelli plate and lift off the background print.

2014-12-27 14.16.58

 

 

 Next line up the letter for the name you wish to stamp, from the nursery rhyme set of stamps.

I first tried sed Wow gold embossing powder, but it was too thick and the fine line art was lost. If I had a canvas board, I would have stamped directly onto it. But as this is a canvas I stamped on theva card with black archival ink and used clear embossing powder for the lettering.

I then cut out the letters and coloured with distress markers and stuck onto the canvas.

2014-12-27 14.11.31

 

 Next, this is what the white fibre looks like, love that shimmer. I took the Large and Small Butterfly, seen on TV in 2011.

I inked the butterfly stamps with black archival and made a sandwich of film with fibre in the centre. I place some greaseproof paper over it and ironed it with a hot iron.

2014-12-27 16.03.26

 

 It is essential that the image come through like this. It means you have heated it enough.

 

2014-12-27 16.07.04

 This is what the white looks like.

2014-12-27 16.07.35

 

 

 The yellow fibres, with film that has a hint of purple in it.

Cut out the butterflies and layer.

 

2014-12-27 16.13.35

 

 This is a close up of the name and one of the butterflies.

 

2014-12-27 17.19.47

To finish I sprinkled some glamour dust all over the canvas, well every little girl needs some sparkle)

and sealed with a clear mat spray. The spray will seal the glitter and also

allow the piece to be dusted.

January 2015

This is what I used

2014-12-29 14.46.27

Hope you like it.

Bye for now.

Naomi

